The Rio Grande Valley's Nature Site

Rio Grande Valley Cities and Counties & Federal and State Elected Officials

Home | Contact Us | Jan's Nature Photos

Cameron County (388,000 pop.), Hidalgo County (701,000 pop.), Willacy County (20,700 pop.), and Starr County (61,800 pop.) comprise the Lower Rio Grande Valley of South Texas (or El Valle).  Willacy Co. has only three small cities in the county.  Starr Co. is the most economically depressed county in the U.S.  Cameron Co. is the southern-most county in the State, and Hidalgo County is the 4th largest county ( in geographic size and in population) in Texas.  With ~1.2 million people in these counties, the Rio Grande Valley is the 4th largest populated region in Texas.  And remember, the same size area on the Mexico side of the Rio Grande is twice the population size as the LRGV. 
Some of the Lower Rio Grande Valley cities date back to the very early 1700's.  Some of the RGV cities like McAllen, Harlingen, and Brownsville have large populations, whereas some of the LRGV cities have only a few hundred people.
All the LRGV county governments and LRGV city governments do their best to make life as good as it can be for their RGV citizens, and they all welcome you to their communities.  Each Rio Grande Valley community is unique in its own way.  If the Rio Grande Valley is anything, it is colorful, and the RGV counties and RGV cities do their best to make the Rio Grande Valley special.
Listed below, you can find all the information on the LRGV cities and LRGV counties that make up the Rio Grande Valley.  Within each of their links, the contact information for all the RGV elected officials can be obtained.  Contact information for each of the Rio Grande Valley's two U.S. Senators, three U.S. Congressmen, three State Senators, and eight State Representatives are listed, also.  Contact each of them, often, to let them know how you expect them to work for Nation, for Texas, and especially for the Lower Rio Grande Valley.

Rio Grande Valley County and City Governments:

Cameron County

Hidalgo County

Starr County

Willacy County

Texas Border Coalition


City of Alamo

City of Brownsville

City of Donna

City of Edcouch

City of Edinburg

City of Harlingen

City of Hidlago

City of Laguna Vista

City of Los Fresnos

City of McAllen

City of Mission

City of Pharr

City of Port Isabel

City of Rancho Viejo

City of Raymondville

City of Rio Grande City

City of Roma

City of San Benito

City of South Padre Island

City of Weslaco

Federal and State Senators and Representatives for the Valley:

Track Legislation and How U.S. Senators and Congressmen Voted

Federal Register

Annenberg Political Fact Check

U.S. Senate Webpage

U.S. House of Representatives Webpage


U.S. Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)

U.S. Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)


U.S. Congressman Rubén Hinojosa (D-TX 15th Dist.)

U.S. Congressman Blake Farenthold (R-TX 27th Dist.)

U.S. Congressman Henry Cuellar (D-TX 28th Dist.)


Texas Legislature Online


Texas Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-TX 20th Dist.)

Texas Senator Judith Zaffirini (D-TX 21st Dist.)

Texas Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-TX 27th Dist.)


Texas Representative Ryan Guillen (D-TX 31st Dist.)

Texas Representative Oscar Longoria (D-TX Dist. 35)

Texas Representative Sergio Munoz (D-TX 36th Dist.)

Texas Representative Rene Oliveira (D-TX 37th Dist.)

Texas Representative Eddie Lucio III (D-TX 38th Dist.)

Texas Representative Armando "Mando" Martinez (D-TX 39th Dist.)

Texas Representative Terry Canales (D-TX 40th Dist.)

Texas Representative Robert "Bobby" Guerra (D-TX 41st Dist.)

Rio Grande Valley School Districts:

School Districts in Cameron County

School Districts in Hidalgo County

School Districts in Starr County

School Districts in Willacy County

Rio Grande Valley Elections Administrators:

Texas Secretary of State-Elections and Voter Information

Cameron Co. Dept. of Elections and Voter Registration

Hidalgo Co. Elections Dept.

Starr County Elections Dept.

Willacy County Elections Administrator